Fresh Energy Welcomes Four New Board Members

By |

Fresh Energy is undergoing exciting change, with a new Strategic Framework approved by our Board of Directors in October 2020 and set for public rollout next month. Our Board of Directors itself also is changing with several long-time members completing ten-year terms, and four new members joining.

We are pleased to welcome our “class of 2020” Board Members:

Risikat Adesaogun is the Press Secretary and Deputy Communications Director for Minnesota Secretary of State Steve Simon. She specializes in media relations and strives to ensure every eligible Minnesota voter has the information they need to make their voice heard at the polls. Read Risikat’s full bio.  

Erika Bailey-Johnson is the Sustainability Director at Bemidji State University and Coordinator of the People and the Environment academic program. Her background is in science teaching, and Erika and her husband taught for two years in Mexico and three years in Kuwait before returning home to Northern Minnesota. Read Erika’s full bio. 

Angelica Imhoede is an Audit Project Manager for Wells Fargo and has more than a decade of experience in Compliance, Corporate Risk, Internal Audit, and Financial Services. Angelica believes in creating equality for everyone and closing the wealth gap in America. Read Angelica’s full bio. 

Kristel Porter is the Executive Director of MN Renewable Now and is working to address racial equity through a “block by block” initiative to retrofit 24 rooftops with solar per year in North Minneapolis slated to start implementation in spring 2021. Read Kristel’s full bio. 

We are also pleased to announce the new Fresh Energy Board of Directors Officers: Raj V. Rajan is Chair, Merritt Clapp-Smith is Secretary, and Chris O’Brien is Treasurer. Nicholas Garbis will remain Vice Chair 

Goodbyes are more difficult than hellos, but we are so thankful for the long-term service of two outgoing board members who served the very maximum time allowed by our bylaws. Donna Allan and Anita Duckor, we appreciate your combined twenty years of board service and leadership. Your sound governance, committee leadership, linchpin role in strategic planning, and other insights have made such a difference in the organization.  

“Our past board members have done so much to help Fresh Energy grow into a better, stronger organization. The new board members joining us this fall bring a wealth of experiences and fresh eyes to our work. We can’t wait to get started, ” said Michael Noble, executive director. 

You can view the full list of Fresh Energy Board Members here