Fresh Energy Statement: Congress passes historic infrastructure bill

By |

In early November, the House passed the most significant investments in climate and clean energy ever, joining with the Senate, and sending this bill to the president’s desk for his signature. With this historic bill, our country is on the path to reduce the carbon pollution that drives climate change while creating jobs and opportunity for all. And we will feel these impacts right here in Minnesota. 

The 2,500+ page infrastructure bill has some key elements for clean energy and climate in Minnesota. Estimates of what Minnesota can expect to receive include: 

  • $818 million over five years to improve public transportation options across the state. 
  • $68 million over five years to support the expansion of an electric vehicle (EV) charging network in the state. In addition, the state would have the opportunity to apply for the $2.5 billion in grant funding dedicated to EV charging.  
  • A portion of the $3.5 billion national investment in weatherization to reduce energy costs for families. 
  • And more. You can view the details of the infrastructure bill here

While this is a huge first step, we need this momentum to continue. The provisions for clean energy and climate in the Build Back Better Act (BBBA) will have a significant impact in Minnesota and deepen all the work that the infrastructure bill sets into motion. We need the House and the Senate to move quickly to pass the Build Back Better Act and its climate provisions.  

“Fresh Energy has been working behind the scenes and is poised to help implement these laws here in Minnesota, we just need to get the Build Back Better Act over the finish line,” said Fresh Energy’s Michael Noble. “Our goal is to ensure these federal resources, both from the infrastructure bill and BBBA, deliver meaningful local climate and equity-focused projects, promote family-supporting jobs, drive economic development in both rural and under-resourced communities, and spur innovation throughout all sectors of our economy.” 

Thank you to the members of the Minnesota delegation, Representatives Angie Craig, Dean Phillips, and Betty McCollum, who voted to pass the infrastructure bill out of the House and on to President Biden.