News Release: Fresh Energy welcomes new board members

Print More

Rob Davis, Strategic Communications Director: 651-726-7576,

St. Paul – We are pleased to announce that on September 10, Fresh Energy added three new diverse and highly skilled energy experts to our board of directors.

Dr. Raj V. Rajan currently serves as RD&E Vice President and Global Sustainability Technical Leader for Ecolab. Previously, Raj was Vice President of Engineering in the Water, Energy, and Waste Division. Raj has 30 years of experience in water cycle management and environmental process engineering for the paper, petroleum, chemical, utility, food, beverage, transportation, and energetics industries and the travel and tourism sector. Raj received his Ph.D. in Environmental Engineering from the University of Massachusetts and his bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Varanasi (India). He is a licensed and registered professional engineer in Michigan and Ohio.

Jeff Broberg is a Rochester-area professional geologist and consultant focused on natural resource, energy, water, and land-use issues of the Upper Mississippi Valley. Jeff currently works at WSB Associates, Inc., a Minnesota-based engineering and environmental consulting firm. Jeff has been a leader and frequent contributor on natural resource and land-use issues in southeastern Minnesota for 25 years. Jeff is serving his third term as a Minnesota House of Representatives citizen appointee to the Minnesota Legislative-Citizens Commission on Minnesota Resources, which oversees Minnesota’s Environmental Trust Fund and recommends projects to the legislature. Jeff received his degree in earth science from the University of Minnesota in 1977.

Chris O’Brien has held senior executive positions with leading global solar PV and other clean energy companies and trade associations for the past 25 years. Chris currently works as a clean energy business consultant and an advisory board member and executive in residence for the Microgrid Institute, based in Minnesota. Chris served as chairman of Solar Energy Industries Association (SEIA) from 2003 to 2008, and continued to serve on SEIA’s executive committee until 2012. He was elected to the board of directors of the American Council on Renewable Energy (ACORE) in 2006 and served as a director through 2009, when he was elected to join ACORE’s board of advisors. Chris earned two engineering degrees from Dartmouth College and an MBA from Stanford University.

According to Michael Noble, Fresh Energy’s executive director, “The new board members’ experience, along with their diverse technical background, are a good compliment to Fresh Energy’s work in helping chart a course towards a prosperous clean energy future.” He goes on to explain that “As a membership-based policy nonprofit, it is important to have passionate, multi-dimensional contributors at every level. We’re excited to welcome Raj, Jeff, and Chris to the team.”

Additionally, Fresh Energy’s board elected new leadership on September 10. Anita S. Duckor will serve as chair, Gary Schokmiller as vice chair, Rich Lehman as treasurer, and Anne Weyandt has been named chair emeritus.

Fresh Energy has transformed widely held economic and environmental ideals into smart energy policy for more than 20 years. Through advocacy, research, and collaboration, we work to fight global warming, make clean energy more available, and provide people less polluting, more efficient transportation options. For more information about our work, please visit

Comments are closed.