Power Circles

Fresh Energy’s Power Circles recognize the leading individual, business, and organizational members who make generous unrestricted contributions of $1,000 and above each fiscal year. Through their commitment, Fresh Energy is able to promote laws and rules to create a clean energy system that sustains our economy, human health, and the environment.

Newton Circle

Membership is extended to members contributing a total of $10,000 or more in a fiscal year.
Mathematician and physicist Isaac Newton (1643-1727) was among the foremost scientific intellects of all time.  As the identifier of gravity, developer of mathematics of orbital motion who made foundational contributions to all branches of mathematics and modern physical science, Newton is the exemplar of using scientific investigation to solve scientific problems. The Newton Circle celebrates the application of scientific investigation to the solution of problems.

Anonymous, Aveda, Mark and Kate Hanson, Richard and Joyce McFarland, Sarah Sponheim, Mr. Robert Struyk, SunEdison, The McKnight Foundation, The Pohlad Foundation

Newton Circle benefits

Curie Circle

Membership is extended to members contributing a total of $5,000-$9,999 in a fiscal year.
Marie Curie (1876–1934) originated the theory of radioactivity by hypothesizing and testing the revolutionary concept that rays emitted by uranium could be atomic in nature. Curie’s radical theory ultimately contributed to a fundamental shift in scientific understanding of matter and energy. The Curie Circle celebrates the original thinking that makes scientific breakthroughs possible.

Clean Power Finance, Chuck Denny, Don Shelby, Steven Leuthold Family Foundation

Curie Circle benefits

Edison Circle

Membership is extended to members contributing a total of $2,000–$4,999 in a fiscal year.
Thomas Edison (1847- 1931) is America’s iconic industrial inventor and savvy businessman. His genius for transferring technology from the lab to the market was, as he put it, “…1 percent inspiration and 99 percent perspiration.” The Edison Circle celebrates the inspiration and hard work in successfully harnessing new energy sources.

Donna W. Allan and Bill Mahlum, Randy and Bird Anderson, Anonymous, Lilja Family foundation, Diane J. Peterson and Dave Crawford, Thomas Schnettler and Cheryl Appledorn, Shayna Berkowitz, Phyllis Wiener, and Still Aint Satisfied Foundation, tenKsolar, The Nash Foundation, Kate Wolford and Ed Reilly

Edison Circle benefits


Tesla Circle

Membership is extended to members contributing a total of $1,000–$1,999 in a fiscal year.
Nikola Tesla (1856–1943) was a pioneer of modern electrical engineering. Tesla’s patents formed the basis for alternating current, the AC motor, and the polyphase system of electrical distribution. Tesla inventions were major contributors to the launching of the Industrial Revolution. The Tesla Circle celebrates the economic power of transformative technology.

Anonymous (4), An anonymous fund of The Minneapolis Foundation, Eric Blank and Nancy Printz, Third Level Design, Emily and Eric Chad, R. Michael and Sharon A. Conley, Culp Family Foundation, Christine and Loren Danielson, Alan and Lollie Eidsness, Elmer L. and Eleanor J. Andersen Foundation , Fredrikson & Byron, Ross and Monique Hammond, Mark and Kate Hanson, Hayden Family Fund of the Minneapolis Foundation, Jane Newman Charitable Trust, John and Anita Kes, Sarah Lynch, Charles and Candice Nadler Family Foundation, Michael and Patsy Noble, Melissa Rappaport Schifman and Jim Schifman, Mariesa and Graham Ryan, Gary and Mary Ann Schokmiller, Leola Schruers, Robert Secor, Richard and Julie Shrubb, The Gary and Susan Rappaport Family Philanthropic Fund, James Uttley

Tesla Circle benefits